During the Muslim era the village was called Al Daia and in the unique ‘Cantar del Mío Cid’ (a historic literary work), the Tower of Doña Urraca is shown.
In 1879 under the order of the Count of Floridablanca, it became part of San Esteban de Gormaz Party with the name ‘La Aldea’. And with the fall of the old regime, it formed part of the Old Castile region. However, at the end of the XX century it ceased to exist in order to once again become a part of the municipality of San Esteban de Gormaz.
In the village we will find the church dedicated to Santa Maria la Menor, the church of San Mamés de Capadocia, wine cellars and wine-presses in ruins. The remains of the Muslim watchtower, located in a Late Roman or Visigoth cemetery are not to be missed. The Cañada Real Soriana Occidental (Royal Western Sorian Ravine) passes through its land.